The opening up and rapid settlement of the Dominion has led to a corresponding increase in the number of Experimental Farms and Stations.¹ These now total 21, with a total acreage of 11,850, as compared with the original five Farms, having a total acreage of 3,472, as established in 1886. Table 35 shows the present number of Farms and Stations with the acreage of each and the date of establishment.

In addition there are eight sub-stations, viz.: Salmon Arm, B.C.; Swede Creek, Yukon Territory; Fort Vermilion, Grouard and Beaverlodge, Alberta; and Forts Smith, Resolution and Providence, Northwest Territories. Experimental work under the Division of Illustration Stations is conducted on 15 farms in Saskatchewan, 17 in Alberta and 19 in Quebec.

Organization of the System of Experimental Farms.—The Central Farm at Ottawa, as its name implies, is the centre or headquarters of the system. Thereat are situated the Director, having control and general supervision of the whole, and the chief technical officers, having charge each of his special line of work, both at the Central and branch Farms. At Ottawa, the policy to be pursued throughout the system is settled by agreement after discussion by the Director, the technical officers and the Superintendents on whose branch Farms the work is to be conducted. The technical staff at Ottawa supervise the actual experimental work at the Central Farm. At the branches, the Superintendents are in charge of the carrying out of the various lines of general experiment and also conduct experiments which are of local importance.

The Divisions at Ottawa, which also represent the different lines of work carried on throughout the system, and which have each a technical officer in charge, are as follows: (1) Animal Husbandry; (2) Bees; (3) Botany; (4) Cereals; (5) Chemistry; (6) Extension and Publicity; (7) Economic Fibre Production; (8) Field Husbandry; (9) Forage Plants; (10) Horticulture; (11) Illustration Stations; (12) Poultry and (13) Tobacco. Briefly the main lines of the work of these Divisions are as follows:—

Animal Husbandry.—This Division comprises work with beef cattle, dairy cattle and dairying, horses, sheep and swine, and undertakes experiments in the breeding, feeding, housing and management of each of these classes of live stock.

Bees.—The Bee Division covers the breeding, feeding and manipulation of bees, and the study of bee products, including their marketing.

Botany.—The work of this Division falls into the two classes of Economic Botany and Plant Pathology. The former includes the study of medicinal, poisonous and economic plants. Different varieties and strains of fibre plants are also studied, and special attention is given to the life history and control of weeds. The Division has also charge of the Arboretum at the Central Farm. In Plant Pathology, in addition to the pathological laboratory at Ottawa, there are

¹The five original farms established in 1886 are known as "Experimental Farms"; those added since are styled "Experimental Stations." No distinction in the work is expressed by these titles.